Course description

Learn advanced administration and configuration tasks necessary for a Windows Server 2012 and Windows 2012 R2 infrastructure.

This course is part three of a series of three courses. Through this series you will gain the skills and knowledge necessary to implement a core Windows Server 2012, including Windows Server 2012 R2 infrastructure in an existing enterprise environment.

You will learn the advanced configuration and services tasks needed to implement, manage, and maintain a Windows Server 2012 infrastructure. You will cover advanced networking services, Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS), identity management, rights management, Federated services, network load balancing, failover clustering, business continuity, and disaster recovery. This course incorporates content from the Official Microsoft Learning Product 20412 and it can assist you in your preparation for Exam 70-412: Configuring Advanced Windows Server 2012 Services. Exam 70-412 is one of three exams needed for the MCSA: Windows Server 2012 certification.

Each individual Microsoft Official Course On-Demand includes 3 months (or 12 months with purchase of Microsoft Total Access Collection) of 24x7 access to the following:

What You'll Learn in Class:

Who Needs to Attend:

System administrators and IT professionals looking to acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to carry out advanced management and provisioning of services within that Windows Server 2012 or Windows Server 2012 R2 environment.


Follow-On Courses:


MCSA: Windows Server 2012

Course Outline:

  1. Implementing Advanced Network Services

  1. Implementing Advanced File Services

  1. Implementing Dynamic Access Control (DAC)

  1. Implementing Distributed AD DS Deployments

  1. Implementing AD DS Sites and Replication

  1. Implementing AD CS

  1. Implementing AD RMS

  1. Implementing AD FS

  1. Implementing Network Load Balancing (NLB)

  1. Implementing Failover Clustering

  1. Implementing Failover Clustering with Hyper-V

  1. Implementing Business Continuity Disaster Recovery


NOTE: Labs in this course are based Windows Server 2012 R2 and Windows 8.1.

Lab 1: Implement Advanced Network Services

Lab 2a: Implement Advanced File Services

Lab 2b: Implement BranchCache

Lab 3: Implement Secure Data Access

Lab 4: Implement Distributed AD DS Deployments

Lab 5: Implement AD DS Sites and Replication

Lab 6: Deploy and Configure CA Hierarchy

Lab 7: Deploy and Manage Certificates

Lab 8: Implement AD RMS

Lab 9: Implement AD FS

Lab 10: Implement AD FS for External Partners and Users

Lab 11: Implement Network Load Balancing (NLB)

Lab 12: Implement Failover Clustering

Lab 13: Implement Failover Clustering with Hyper-V

Lab 14: Implement Windows Server Backup and Restore